Benin (Republic of Benin, République du Bénin) 

Country in West Africa. Has access to the Benin Gulf of Guinea. It has borders with Burkina Faso and Niger, in the east - with Nigeria, in the west - with Togo. Capital - Porto-Novo, but the government is located in Cotonou, the largest city in the country. Main types of tourism in the country - excursions extreme safari.

General information

The location, grounds and landscape 

Country in West Africa, which has borders with Burkina Faso and Niger, to the east - with Nigeria, to the west - with Togo. South coast is washed by the Gulf of Guinea.

The country's territory is 112 622 km². 

Geographically, the country is divided into five natural regions: the coastal region, the plateau area ("La Terre de Barre"), elevated plateau with wooded savannah in the north, a hilly area in the north-west ("Atacora") and the fertile plains of the Niger in the northeast.

Population: over 9 million 740 thousand people.

CapitalPorto-Novo, Cotonou (residence of the President, the government and foreign embassies).

Biggest cities Porto-Novo, Cotonou.

Languages: French, also are very spread national languages ​​- Fon, Yoruba, Somba and others.

Religion: Christian 42.8%, Muslim 24.4%, 17.3% Voodoo, other 15.5%.

Time zoneUTC +1.

Calling code: +229.

Currency: CFA franc.

Credit card payment systemsVisa, MasterCard, American Express.

Tours in the direction of: Benin