Tanzania (United Republic of Tanzania, Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania) 

A country in East Africa, part of the Commonwealth of Nations. The word "Tanzania" - a combination of names of two former colonies, which were a part of this country - Tanganyika and Zanzibar. Tanzania is one of the most important tourist regions of East Africa. Vast areas of national parks (Serengeti, Kilimanjaro, Ruaha, Tarangire, and others.) With a huge diversity of wildlife, tremendous cones of ancient volcanoes, incredible landscapes of the Central Plateau and the Great Rift zone, a stretch of sea coast and picturesque island, primitive culture of the local tribes - all this gives country a unique flavor and appeal to visitors. Basic kinds of tourism in the country - excursions, eco-tourism.

General information

The location, grounds and landscape 

In the north borders with Kenya and Uganda, in the west - with Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and in the south - with Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique. The eastern boundary is the Indian Ocean.

The country's territory is 945 203 km². 

Most of the country is occupied by an extensive plateau. Along the shores of the Indian Ocean stretches coastal plain. The country's territory includes part of the largest lakes in Africa - Lake Victoria in the north, Lake Tanganyika (which is often called the Baikal double) in the west, and Lake Nyasa - in southern Tanzania. In Tanzania also is located Africa's highest mountain Kilimanjaro (5895 m).

Population: more than 48 million 260 thousand people.

Capital: Dodoma (legislative capital), Dar es Salaam (administrative center).

Biggest citiesDar es SalaamMwanza.

Languages: Swahili and English.

Religion: about 55% of the population are Christians, proportion of Muslims is 32%, about 12% of the population adheres to local indigenous beliefs. Among ethnic minorities there are Hindus, Baha'is, Buddhists, Sikhs, Jains and others.

Time zoneUTC +3.

Calling code: +255 (+007 from Kenya and Uganda).

Currency: Tanzanian Shilling. 1 Tanzanian shilling is equal to 100 cents. In the back are banknotes of 10 000, 5000, 1000, 500 and 200 shillings, and coins in 200, 100, 50, 20, 10, 5 and 1 shilling and 50, 20, 10 and 5 cents.

Credit card payment systems: credit cards are accepted only by large banks and supermarkets. Traveler's checks are better to buy in dollars and pounds sterling, to avoid large fees.

Tours in the direction of: Tanzania
from € 1600
About the tour
from € 1110
About the tour