• Bhutan

Bhutan (The Kingdom of Bhutan, Wiley'brug-yul, Lat. Zhuk yü)

A small country in the Himalayas in Asia, located between India and China. Capital - the city of Thimphu. Self-name - Druk Yul, or Druk Tsend - "country thunder-dragon." According to one version of the name "Bhutan" is derived from Bhu-Uta (Bhu-Uttan), which in Sanskrit means "highland" or "mountainous country." According to another version, name comes from the Bhote Ant (Bhots-ant), which means "edge (end) of Tibet" or "southern Tibet."

Bhutan is located high in Himalayas. This once-isolated country to the international community now is a dream of many travelers. Long years of isolation allowed state to keep its unusual identity: ancient Buddhist traditions, unique architecture and wildlife. Snow-capped peaks of the Himalayas, covered with thick forests in the north, and extending at their feet humid tropical forests in the south, attract many lovers of nature and trekking, and numerous Buddhist shrines that are fanned with mysterious legends, beckon to this area history buffs. Basic kinds of tourism in the country - trips and recreation, ecotourism, hiking.

General information

The location, grounds and landscape 

In the north Kingdom of Bhutan borders with China to the west - with the Indian state of Sikkim (until 1975 former independent kingdom), in the east - with the state of Arunachal Pradesh, in the south - with the states of Assamwhere is conducted a multi-year civil war in the south-west - from West Bengal.

The country's territory is 38 394 km². 

Bhutan is located on the southern slopes of the Great Himalayas. In the northern part of the country heights reach 7 km, mountains here are covered with glaciers. It is believed that the highest point in the country is Kula Gangri Peak (7553 m). In the central part of Bhutan extends Black Mountains range, with elevations ranging from 1,500 to 2,700 m, which is the watershed between the major rivers of the country - Mo Chhu and Drangme (or Manas), which flow into the river Brahmaputra. The southern part of Bhutan is occupied by foothills and subtropical plains "Douar", height is lowered to 200 m.

Population: more than 755 thousand people.

CapitalThimphu (100 thousand inhabitants).

Biggest cities: Paro, Jakar, Mongar, Tashigang.

Languages: official language of the Kingdom of Bhutan - Dzongkha (Wiley rdzong-kha). Dzongkha means "language, which is spoken in the dzong" (Dzong - fortress-monasteries in Bhutan). The language belongs to the Sino-Tibetan language family and its structure is most similar to Tibetan.

Religion: majority of the population (about 75%) of the country practice Buddhism lamasery wing (Drukpa-Kagyupa), it is the state religion of the country. In the southern part of Bhutan predominate Hindus, they account for about 25% of the population. Less than 1% of Bhutanese practiced the Bon religion and Islam.

Time zone: UTC +6. 

Calling code: +975. 

Currency: Ngultrum (BTN), rate 1.00 USD ≅ 62.16 BTN, 1.00 EUR ≅ 84.45 BTN. 1 Ngultrum is equal to 100 Chetri. In circulation are banknotes in denominations of 500, 100, 50, 20, 10, 5, 2 and 1 Ngultrum and coins of 1 Ngultrum and 100, 50, 25, 10 and 5 Chetri. Ngultrum pegged to the Indian rupee in the ratio of 1:1. It should be noted that the Indian rupee is legal tender in Bhutan.Often as a payment are received US dollars.

Credit card payment systems: Visa, MasterCard, American Express.

Tours in the direction of: Bhutan